Organization‎ > ‎

Governing Board

The Governing Board consists of one representative and their subsitute of each participating university. In the Governing Board the long term plans, the educational programme, the annual report, and the financial planning are prepared. Members of the ICO Governing Board play an important role in linking ICO policies to local groups in the participating universities.

Current members of the ICO Governing Board are:


Member 1

Member 2 (substitute)

Eindhoven University of Technology

Prof. Dr. Jan Vermunt

Dr. Maaike Koopman

Erasmus University Rotterdam

Prof. Dr. Fred Paas

Dr. Björn de Koning*

Ghent University

Prof. Dr. Hilde van Keer

Prof. Dr. Martin Valcke

Leiden University

Prof. Dr. Fred Janssen 

Prof.dr. Wilfried Admiraal

Maastricht University

Dr. Pascal van Gerven


Open University of the Netherlands

Dr. Gino Camp

University of Amsterdam

Prof. Dr. Frans Oort

Prof. Dr. Thea Peetsma

University of Antwerp

Prof. dr. David Gijbels

Prof. Dr. Vincent Donche

University of Groningen

Prof. Dr. Jan Willem Strijbos

Dr. Anneke Timmermans

University of Twente

Dr. Kim Schildkamp

Dr. ir. Bernard Veldkamp

Utrecht University

Prof.dr. Liesbeth Kester

 Prof. Dr. Tamara van Gog

VU University Amsterdam

Prof. Dr. Martijn Meeter


Wageningen University

Dr. Harm Biemans

Prof.dr. Perry den Brok

Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen

Prof. Dr. P.C. Meijer (chair)


KU Leuven 

Prof. Dr. Rianne Janssen

Prof. Dr. Lieven Verschaffel

Educational Committee

Rob Kickert


*permanent subsitute